» » Undisputed Truth - Law Of The Land

Undisputed Truth - Law Of The Land FLAC album

Performer: Undisputed Truth
Genre: Soul and Funk music
Title: Law Of The Land
Country: US
Released: 2010
Style: Soul
FLAC version ZIP size: 1410 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1356 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1667 mb
Rating: 4.7
Votes: 793
Other Formats: MIDI AA AC3 AU WAV MP3 DTS

The Undisputed Truth is the self titled debut album of the Motown group of the same name. Released in 1971, it was produced entirely by Norman Whitfield. The album includes the group's biggest hit single (and only US Top 40 hit), "Smiling Faces Sometimes", which peaked at on the US Billboard Hot 100 Chart. Many of the songs on this album were also recorded by the group's Motown labelmates, The Temptations (also produced by Norman Whitfield)

Law of the Land" is a soul song written by Norman Whitfield for the Motown label. A socially-conscious funk track with elements of early disco music, it details the rules of human society that people have to accept and live by. Contents. That version was included on volume eight of the Motown Chartbusters compilation album series. The Undisputed Truth released their version of song that same year, and it became a minor hit in America, making on the R&B Charts.

Undisputed Truth was an odd sort of band, where on this their final album with the original lineup, all of the material laid down had been previously recorded, and were chart topping hits from other artists. The second way of viewing this attribute is to consider that Undisputed Truth purposely intended to compile an album of material previously released, and then hit the world with their own. Regardless, the single Law Of The Land is an infectious harmonic five star rolling psych-funk event, sending shivers down my spine and opened new doors for me, though as I said, did not at all represent what was delivered on the rest of this album. Reply Notify me 1 Helpful.

Album · 1973 · 13 Songs. More By The Undisputed Truth. See All. The Undisputed Truth. Method to the Madness.

Law of the Land was the last Undisputed Truth album recorded by the group's original line-up, as founding members Billie Rae Calvin and Brenda Joyce Evans would leave shortly after its release. Joe Harris would then be joined by four new members, Virginia "V" McDonald, Tyrone "Big Ty" Douglas, Tyrone "Lil Ty" Barkeley and Calvin "Dhaak" Stephenson, all of whom had been part of The Magictones, a local Detroit soul group. Like many early Undisputed Truth albums, Law of the Land mostly contains songs that had already been recorded by other artists

Day Driving Hanging Out Politics/Society. 4. Killing Me Softly With This Song. 5. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me). 6. This Child Needs Its Father. 7. Mama I Gotta Brand New Thing (Don't Say No). 9. Love and Happiness. 10. With a Little Help From My Friends. 11. If I Die. 12. Walk On By. 13. Gonna Keep On Tryin' Til I Win Your Love.

Tracklist: 01. Law of the Land 4:15 02. Papa was a rollin Stone 3:19 03. Girl you're alright 2:54 04.

The Undisputed Truth was a 1970s Motown recording act, assembled by record producer Norman Whitfield as a means for being able to experiment with his psychedelic soul production techniques. Joe "Pep" Harris served as main lead singer, with Billie Rae Calvin and Brenda Joyce Evans on additional leads and background vocals. Billie Calvin and Brenda Evans had been part of a group called The Delicates in the 1960s

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Law Of The Land
Written-By – Norman Whitfield
A2 Papa Was A Rollin' Stone
Written-By – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
A3 Girl You're Alright
Written-By – Clay McMurray, Pam Sawyer
A4 Killing Me Softly With This Song
Written-By – C. Fox*, N. Gimbel*
A5 Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
Arranged By, Conductor – David Van DePitteWritten-By – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
A6 This Child Needs Its Father
Written-By – Dino Fekaris, Nick Zesses
B1 Mama I Gotta Brand New Thing (Don't Say No)
Written-By – Norman Whitfield
B2 Feelin' Alright
Written-By – Dave Mason
B3 Love And Happiness
Written-By – Al Green, Mabon Hodges*
B4 With A Little Help From My Friends
Written-By – J. Lennon, P. McCartney*
B5 If I Die
Written-By – Peter Rivera*
B6 Walk On By
Written-By – H. David, B. Bacharach*

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Motown Record Corporation
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Motown Record Corporation
  • Published By – Stone Diamond Music Corp.
  • Published By – Jobete Music Co., Inc.
  • Published By – Fox-Gimbel Productions
  • Published By – Stone Agate Music Division
  • Published By – Irving Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Jec Publishing Co.
  • Published By – Al Green Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Maclen Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Blue Seas Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Jec Publishing Co.
  • Pressed By – Rainbo Records – S-71460
  • Pressed By – Rainbo Records – S-71461


  • Arranged By, Conductor – Paul Riser (tracks: A1 to A4, A6, B1 to B6)
  • Bass – Bob Babbitt
  • Bongos [Bongo], Congas [Congo] – Eddie "Bongo" Brown
  • Drums – Aaron Smith , Andrew Smith , Richard Allen, Uriel Jones
  • Guitar – Billy Cooper, Eddie Willis, Joe Messina, Melvin Ragin, Paul Warren, Robert Ward, Robert White
  • Illustration – Efraru Wolff
  • Mastered By – Dc*
  • Organ – Johnny Griffith
  • Piano – Earl Van Dyke
  • Producer – Norman Whitfield
  • Tambourine, Maracas, Percussion [Sticks, Etc.] – Jack Ashford
  • Vibraphone [Vibes], Bells, Percussion [Tympani, Gourd] – Jack Brokensha


© 1973 Motown Record Corporation
℗ 1973 Motown Record Corporation
Trademark Motown Record Corporation

Printed in U.S.A. [back sleeve]

On sleeve Joel Dorn is credited as writer of A4.

Publishing companies variants as on release:
Jobete Music Company, Inc.
Fox-Gimbel Productions
Jec Pub. Co.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label side A): B5RS-8313-RE1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Label side B): B5RS-8314-RE1-2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etched): 3972- GS 963 - 1 (A) S-71460 RE Dc
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout etched): 3972- GS 963 - 1 (B) S-71461 Dc

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
G 963L Undisputed Truth Law Of The Land ‎(LP, Album) Gordy G 963L US 1973
2C 064-93968 Undisputed Truth Law Of The Land ‎(LP, Album) Tamla Motown 2C 064-93968 France 1973
G 963L Undisputed Truth Law Of The Land ‎(LP, Album, Sup) Gordy G 963L US 1973
G 963L Undisputed Truth Law Of The Land ‎(LP, Album) Gordy G 963L US 1973
60044 Undisputed Truth Law Of The Land ‎(LP, Album, TP) Ariston S.R.L., Rifi 60044 Italy 1973