» » Coal Porters - Durango

Coal Porters - Durango FLAC album

Performer: Coal Porters
Genre: Folk and World music
Title: Durango
Released: 2010
Style: Bluegrass
FLAC version ZIP size: 1553 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1234 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1480 mb
Rating: 4.1
Votes: 298

The Coal Porters were a British-American bluegrass band headquartered in London and led by Sid Griffin (mandolin, autoharp, harmonica and vocals) and Neil Robert Herd (guitar and vocals). The group disbanded in July 2018. The other members were Kerenza Peacock (fiddle, vocals), Paul Fitzgerald (banjo, vocals) and Andrew Stafford (bass, vocals). Griffin formed the group in Los Angeles in 1989 and then reorganised the band after moving to London.

The Coal Porters - A Light From The Mountains (Live at The Green Note). 24. 1. See All. Shop. The Coal Porters - Turn The Water On, Boy! £. 0. The Coal Porters -T-Shirt. The Coal Porters - Durango (CD). 2016 saw the release of the bands latest album, No. 6, produced by British folk-rock legend John Wood (Fairport Convention, Nick Drake, Squeeze, Beth Orton, John Cale). No. 6 pushes the bands musical boundaries further than ever before featuring Kerenza quadruple tracking herself into a string quartet, Andrew on a ukulele, Sid on trusty autoharp and mandolin, both Neil and Paul on dobro, a Byrdsy acoustic 12-string guitar, and very emotional, long, sweet trumpet solo by Cuba’s noted son y mambo music virtuoso Eikel Venegas.

Pretty Polly (live in Scotland 2010).

Опубликовано: 15 сент. 2016 г. Video from the CD The Coal Porters - Durango (April 17 - April 30). Recorded during two fruitful weeks in the mountains right outside the Colorado town which gave the album its name this is the fourth and best alt-bluegrass album by ex-Long Ryder Sid Griffin’s outfit, The Coal Porters. This highly anticipated follow up to 2007’s Turn The Water On, Boy! is a clear country mile step forward.

More The Coal Porters. Listen to Durango now. Listen to Durango in full in the this site app. Play on this site.

The Porters recorded the album last year, in the two weeks of the subtitle, at the Colorado studio of Ryders producer Ed Stasium. And Griffin’s belief that Bill Monroe and Neil Young are cut from the same North American granite is affirmed by the buoyant poignancy of the cover of Young’s Like a Hurricane, with Frey’s sawing and skydiving fiddle where his scouring guitar distortion would be and sounding right at home.


1 Let's Say Goodbye (Like We Said Hello) 2:16
2 No More Chains 4:02
3 Moonlight Midníght 3:28
4 I'm Not Going Away 4:06
5 One Is Way To Many 3:29
6 The Squeaky Wheel Gets The Oil 3:12
7 Pretty Polly 3:35
8 Like A Hurricane 3:51
9 Permanent Twilight 4:04
10 Roadkill Breakdown 2:12
11 Lookin' For A Soft Place To Fall 3:20
12 Closing Time Genius 3:38
13 Sail Away, Ladies! 3:25

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – KozyTone Ranch


  • Banjo, Vocals, Jew's Harp [jaw harp] – Dick Smith
  • Bass [doghouse] – Jeff Kazmierski
  • Fiddle, Vocals – Carly Frey
  • Guitar, Dobro, Vocals – Neil Robert Herd
  • Guitar, Vocals – Peter Rowan (tracks: 3)
  • Mandolin – Tim O'Brien (tracks: 10)
  • Mandolin, Harmonica, Autoharp, Vocals – Sid Griffin
  • Producer, Engineer, Mixed By, Backing Vocals – Ed Stasium


Recorded April 17 - April 30 2009
Enhanced CD includes a short documentary film of the band by Biki Kangwana

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 93962 00123 8
  • Matrix / Runout: VC0493 SID023
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LD02
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5J29