» » Ralph Towner / Wolfgang Muthspiel / Slava Grigoryan - Travel Guide

Ralph Towner / Wolfgang Muthspiel / Slava Grigoryan - Travel Guide FLAC album

Performer: Ralph Towner
Genre: Jazz
Title: Travel Guide
Country: Germany
Released: 2013
Style: Contemporary Jazz
FLAC version ZIP size: 1729 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1833 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1372 mb
Rating: 4.6
Votes: 204
Other Formats: WAV AU MP4 AUD MP3 RA MOD

The tonal qualities on all of these tracks are beautifully nuanced: Muthspiel plays electric guitar, Towner classical and 12-string, and Grigoryan classical and baritone guitars. These compositions weren't written for these players to showcase their solo chops, but rather as songs with limited but impeccable improvisation. Muthspiel uses wordless vocals to expand the group's tonal reach on "Amarone Trio

Ralph Towner and Wolfgang Muthspiel were on tour there, as solo performers, when they crossed paths with Slava Grigoryan. A first tour, in 2005, presented the three of them as soloists, then in duets and finally in trio. After the first few concerts, Muthspiel has reported, they felt very much like a band, and they have continued to play together each year, further developing the group concept. Ralph Towner subsequently brought the project to ECM, and the trio recorded this album in Lugano in August 2012, with Manfred Eicher as producer. Towner has been a key ECM recording artist for more than 40 years, while Muthspiel and Grigoryan, distinguished musicians both, make their label debuts here.

The members of this distinguished international and intergenerational guitar trio-Ralph Towner (the . Wolfgang Muthspiel (Austria), and Slava Grigoryan ()-are all well traveled. Instead of writing a book, however, they've assemble an evocative second album together that moves between Western classical and modern jazz, with touches of European folk forms like flamenco providing some spice.

TITLE added to MP3 cart. Ralph Towner & Wolfgang Muthspiel & Slava Grigoryan. Exclusive Prime pricing. 5 people found this helpful.

Wolfgang Muthspiel (born 2 March 1965, Judenburg, Austria) is an Austrian jazz guitarist and record label owner. He is the brother of musician Christian Muthspiel. He released his first solo album, Timezones, in 1989 During the 1990s, Muthspiel lived in New York City and recorded more solo albums. 2013 Travel Guide (with Slava Grigoryan and Ralph Towner). 2014 Driftwood (with Brian Blade and Larry Grenadier).

Composed By – Wolfgang Muthspiel. Composed By – Ralph Towner. Classical Guitar, Baritone Guitar – Slava Grigoryan. Classical Guitar, Twelve-String Guitar – Ralph Towner. Design – Sascha Kleis. Electric Guitar, Voice – Wolfgang Muthspiel. Engineer – Stefano Amerio. Photography By – Eberhard Ross.

Artist: Wolfgang Muthspiel. Album: Travel Guide, 2013.

Ralph Towner, Wolfgang Muthspiel and Slava Grigoryan. Photograph: Daniel Vass. A guitar fan's delight, but also a warmly inviting collection of song-shaped pieces for three very different practitioners: the jazz, folk and world-musician Ralph Towner, the Pat Metheny-influenced Austrian star Wolfgang Muthspiel and the award-winning Australia-raised Armenian prodigy Slava Grigoryan. Towner and though the songs are mostly patiently thoughtful, their differences emerge the deeper in you get. Muthspiel's ringing, quietly contrapuntal opener The Henrysons has a hypnotic pulse beneath its understated sway, Towner's Father Time is an absorbing exercise in overlaid chiming sounds with a country tinged harmonic movement within it, Windsong is a haunting, slow-moving melody that develops a pushing insistence for Grigoryan's baritone-guitar variations.

Both of course also perform plus Slava Grigoryan who closes the triangular figure.

+ 01 The Henrysons (Wolfgang Muthspiel) 07:04 02 Father Time (Ralph Towner) 04:38 03 Windsong (Wolfgang Muthspiel) 06:43 04 Duende (Ralph Towner) 04:29 05 Amarone Trio (Wolfgang Muthspiel) 05:42 06 Travel Guide (Ralph Towner) 06:35 07 Die blaue Stunde (Wolfgang Muthspiel) 05:20 08 Nico und Mithra (Wolfgang Muthspiel). 03:45 09 Tarry (Ralph Towner) 01:03 10 Museum of Light (Ralph Towner) 05:17 Ralph Towner (classical and 12-string guitars) Wolfgang Muthspiel (electric guitar, voice) Slava Grigoryan (classical and baritone guitars) +-+-+. Download from free file storage.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Henrysons
Composed By – Wolfgang Muthspiel
2 Father Time
Composed By – Ralph Towner
3 Windsong
Composed By – Wolfgang Muthspiel
4 Duende
Composed By – Ralph Towner
5 Amarone Trio
Composed By – Wolfgang Muthspiel
6 Travel Guide
Composed By – Ralph Towner
7 Die Blaue Stunde
Composed By – Wolfgang Muthspiel
8 Nico Und Mithra
Composed By – Wolfgang Muthspiel
9 Tarry
Composed By – Ralph Towner
10 Museum Of Light
Composed By – Ralph Towner

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Universal Music
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – ECM Records GmbH
  • Copyright (c) – ECM Records GmbH


  • Classical Guitar, Baritone Guitar – Slava Grigoryan
  • Classical Guitar, Twelve-String Guitar [12-String Guitar] – Ralph Towner
  • Design – Sascha Kleis
  • Electric Guitar, Voice – Wolfgang Muthspiel
  • Engineer – Stefano Amerio
  • Photography By [Cover Photo] – Eberhard Ross
  • Photography By [Liner Photos] – Dániel Vass
  • Producer – Manfred Eicher


case jewel with jacket cardboard

Recorded August 2012

℗ 2013 ECM Records GmbH
© 2013 ECM Records GmbH

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 602537295081
  • Matrix / Runout: DIDY 1031725 1
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5018
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 02516
  • SPARS Code: DDD

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ECM 2310, 372 9508 Ralph Towner / Wolfgang Muthspiel / Slava Grigoryan Ralph Towner / Wolfgang Muthspiel / Slava Grigoryan - Travel Guide ‎(CD, Album) ECM Records, ECM Records ECM 2310, 372 9508 Germany 2013
ECM 2310, B0019239-02 Ralph Towner / Wolfgang Muthspiel / Slava Grigoryan Ralph Towner / Wolfgang Muthspiel / Slava Grigoryan - Travel Guide ‎(CD, Album) ECM Records, ECM Records ECM 2310, B0019239-02 US 2013