» » Tortoise - TNT

Tortoise - TNT FLAC album

Performer: Tortoise
Genre: Electronic / Rock
Title: TNT
Country: US
Released: 2001
Style: Post Rock
FLAC version ZIP size: 1177 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1729 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1997 mb
Rating: 4.6
Votes: 961
Other Formats: MP4 AUD MMF ADX MP2 XM MIDI

Instead, Tortoise floats free, a planchette moving over a Ouija board guided by 10 sets of fingers, where everyone watches the arrow float in one direction but no one is quite sure how it gets there or who is doing the pushing. No album in the band’s initial run embodied that like their third, 1998’s TNT. Weirdly beautiful and impossible to pin down, TNT was a fulcrum, a place where the musical values of the past (instrumental proficiency, deliberate composition) met the digital future. But first we should start with that past, with a rhythm section, or rather, two of them.

TNT by Tortoise, released 10 March 1998 1. TNT 2. Swung From the Gutters 3. Ten-Day Interval 4. I Set My Face to the Hillside 5. The Equator 6. A Simple Way to Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work 7. The Suspension Bridge at Iguazú Falls 8. Four-Day Interval 9. In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, and Beethoven There Were Women and Men 10. Almost Always is Nearly Enough 11. Jetty 1.

TNT (Tortoise album). TNT is the third album by American post-rock band Tortoise "Jetty" is an alternate version of 1997 song "La Jetée" by Tortoise's jazzier sister group, Isotope 217.

Expected by many to continue leading the post-rock brigade into a new fusion with dub and electronics, Tortoise instead turned yet another corner with their third album, TNT. Adding guitarist Jeff Parker to cement their musicianship as well as their connections to Chicago's fertile jazz/avant-garde scene, the band returned with a record of post-modern cool jazz, only slightly informed by the dub, Krautrock, and electronics of Millions Now Living Will Never Die.

Tortoise is an American experimental rock band formed in Chicago, Illinois in 1990. The band incorporates krautrock, dub, minimal music, electronica and jazz into their music, a combination sometimes termed "post-rock".

TNT is the third studio album by American post-rock band Tortoise, released in 1998 by Thrill Jockey. Upon release, the album was critically acclaimed, with viewers complimenting its postmodern sound. The band toured in promotion of the album in 1998, bringing new, live arrangements to the previously studio-crafted songs. TNT. Studio album by.

Tracklist: 1. TNT, 2. Swung From The Gutters, 3. Ten-Day Interval, 4. I Set My Face To The Hillside, 5. The Equator, 6. A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work, 7. The Suspension Bridge At Iguazú Falls, 8. Four-Day Interval, 9. In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, And Beethoven There Were Women And Men, 10. Almost Always Is Nearly Enough, 11. Jetty, 12. Everglade. 2. Swung From The Gutters.


1 TNT 7:33
2 Swung From The Gutters 5:52
3 Ten-Day Interval 4:44
4 I Set My Face To The Hillside 6:08
5 The Equator 3:42
6 A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work 3:33
7 The Suspension Bridge At Iguazú Falls 5:38
8 Four-Day Interval 4:45
9 In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, And Beethoven There Where Women And Men 7:29
10 Almost Always Is Nearly Enough 2:42
11 Jetty 8:21
12 Everglade 4:21
13 Madison Avenue 3:27

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Thrill Jockey Records
  • Copyright (c) – Tortoise
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Thrill Jockey Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Trama
  • Manufactured By – Videolar S.A.
  • Licensed From – Trama Promoções Artísticas Ltda.
  • Made By – Videolar
  • Recorded At – Soma Electronic Music Studios
  • Recorded At – Idful Music
  • Edited At – Soma Electronic Music Studios
  • Mixed At – Soma Electronic Music Studios
  • Mastered At – SAE Mastering
  • Published By – Onions Wrapped In Rubber Music


  • Bassoon – Caitlin Horsmon
  • Cello – Popahna Brandes
  • Composed By, Performer – Tortoise
  • Cornet – Rob Mazurek
  • Design [Sleeve] – Tortoise
  • Layout [Assistance] – Sheila Sachs
  • Mastered By – Roger Seibel
  • Performer [Tortoise Is] – Dan Bitney, David Pajo, Douglas McCombs, Jeff Parker, John Herndon, John McEntire
  • Programmed By [Additional Programming] – Dan Bitney, John Herndon
  • Recorded By, Edited By, Mixed By – John McEntire
  • Trombone – Sara P. Smith
  • Violin – Julie Liu


13th track is a bonus track, exclusive to this release.

© 1998 Tortoise
© & ℗ 1998 Thrill Jockey Records.
℗ 2001 Trama

Recorded, edited and mixed at Soma Electronic Music Studios, with the exception of "Ten-Day Interval" and "Four-Day Interval" which were recorded at Idful Music Corporation
Recorded and mixed the year beginning November 1996 and ending November 1997.
Mastered at SAE Analog & Digital Mastering Services

Published by Onions Wrapped In Rubber Music (ASCAP).

Track duration taken from Windows Media Player

Released in a standard jewel case with white CD tray and a 4-page booklet with cover, photos and songs.

Catalog Numbers:
T004/437-2 Back cover & Spine
437-2 - CD label & Booklet

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 898133 064371
  • Barcode (Scanned): 7898133064371
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Matrix / Runout: 437-2 34058 VIDEOLAR
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L562
  • Mould SID Code: ifpi 9620

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
THRILL 050 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) Thrill Jockey THRILL 050 US 1998
08705 - 2, 845475 2 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) City Slang, Virgin 08705 - 2, 845475 2 UK 1998
THRILL 050 Tortoise TNT ‎(2xLP, Album, RE) Thrill Jockey THRILL 050 US 2016
THRILL-JP 13, HEADZ 22 Tortoise TNT ‎(CD, Album, RE) Thrill Jockey, Headz THRILL-JP 13, HEADZ 22 Japan 2004
08705-2 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) City Slang 08705-2 UK 1998