» » Amoeba - Watchful

Amoeba - Watchful FLAC album

Performer: Amoeba
Genre: Electronic / Rock / Pop music
Title: Watchful
Country: US
Released: 2016
Style: Pop Rock, Synth-pop, Experimental
FLAC version ZIP size: 1867 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1486 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1867 mb
Rating: 4.9
Votes: 162

The second album by the ambient pop duo of Amoeba (ts Robert Rich and Rick Davies) was released at the height of interest in electronica, when bands like Stereolab, Air and Mouse on Mars were all exploring different aspects of drones, hypnotic patterns, and deep-space bliss-outs. Indeed, at times Watchful threatens to dissolve into standard-issue new age mush, as on the opening "Inside," which adds a bodhran-like drum pulse and David Gilmour-style slide guitar to the minimal synths and lush arrangements through deliberately under-mixed vocals.

Pivot (2000) is an album by the American experimental pop music group Amoeba. The style of this album is similar to that of Amoeba’s previous album Watchful (1997) except with a somewhat more active and direct approach. The lyrics are also more literal and emotional than those of Watchful. No Empty Promises - 4:34. Moonlight Flowers - 3:40. House of Rust - 1:17. Seasons Passing - 5:01.

Request an album send to friend. Bitrate (quality): 192256320.

Alternative Press: rated 5/5 - Essential: "Sounding vaguely like Robert Wyatt on Valium: music for life-weary somnambulists. This is a superb and unusual album that mesmerizes and engulfs. Brent Wilcox): AMOEBA is the haunting, beautiful work of Robert Rich and Rick Davies.

Somewhere between the dark Goth of Dead Can Dance and a tripped-out ambient universe, this album slowly stretches with creeping guitar, breathy synth, and layered rhythms and sound. Rich and Davies take pop to its soundscape edges, particularly on tracks like "Footless" and "Saragossa," before diving into the dark expansive depths of early Tangerine Dream-style black-hole space music on "Desolation" and "Water Vapor.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Inside 4:57
2 Skin
Cello – Hans Christian
3 Origami 2:12
4 Footless
Cello – Hans ChristianDrums – Don SwansonVoice – Ivy Barry
5 Ignoring Gravity
Drums – Don Swanson
6 Water Vapor 2:12
7 Desolation 4:39
8 Big Clouds
Cello – Hans Christian
9 Saragossa
Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Scott WrightDrums – Don Swanson
10 Any Other Sky 6:43
11 Watchful Eyes 5:12


  • Guitar, Bass – Rick Davies
  • Vocals, Synthesizer, Guitar, Percussion – Robert Rich

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
LS-97008 CD Amoeba Watchful ‎(CD, Album) Lektronic Soundscapes LS-97008 CD US 1997
RR 6441-2 Amoeba Watchful ‎(CD, Album, RE) Release Entertainment RR 6441-2 US 1999