» » The Divine Comedy - A Short Album About Love

The Divine Comedy - A Short Album About Love FLAC album

Performer: The Divine Comedy
Genre: Rock
Title: A Short Album About Love
Country: UK
Style: Brit Pop
FLAC version ZIP size: 1327 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1680 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1426 mb
Rating: 4.9
Votes: 682
Other Formats: TTA MP3 DXD XM RA ADX VOC

The Divine Comedy are a chamber pop band from Northern Ireland formed in 1989 and fronted by Neil Hannon. Hannon has been the only constant member of the group, playing, in some instances, all of the non-orchestral instrumentation except drums. To date, eleven studio albums have been released under the Divine Comedy name. At the height of their commercial success, the band released A Short Album About Love (a reference to the Krzysztof Kieślowski film A Short Film About Love), recorded live at soundcheck with the Brunel Ensemble in preparation for a concert at the Shepherd's Bush Empire, from which several songs were released as b-sides.

Released to coincide with Valentine's Day, A Short Album About Love is, if anything, an even better record than Casanova, simply because Hannon holds nothing back. These are grandiose, extravagant songs that work because of their very pretensions. His deep, baritone croon has never sounded more affecting, and his songs are easily among his best, making A Short Album About Love much more than a record for hardcore fans. Several months later, a re-release of the album added four bonus tracks.

A Short Album About Love. By: The Divine Comedy (1997, Rock). Alternativ Rock The Divine Comedy. 队列表 Alternativ Rock The Divine Comedy A Short Album About Love. Band Name The Divine Comedy. Album Name A Short Album About Love.

A Short Album About Love is the fifth album by The Divine Comedy, released in 1997. A Short Album About Love. Studio album by. The Divine Comedy. Love Is Lighter Than Air" and "Motorway to Damascus" are also studio recordings, this time featuring the newly-formed, post-Casanova, core live Divine Comedy band. Both tracks had also appeared as b-sides to "Casanova"-era singles, "Something for the Weekend" and "Becoming More Like Alfie", respectively. All songs written by Neil Hannon except where stated. The tracks which are starred are bonus tracks which are on certain pressings of the album. Everybody Knows (Except You)" was released as a single on three separate CDs, each one featuring an extra three live tracks. It became one of the band's biggest hits, reaching number fourteen in the UK charts. The middle eight of "In Pursuit Of Happiness" was subsequently adopted as the theme for the TV series Tomorrow's World. The original version was used for one season of the show, with a specially-recorded version being substituted thereafter.

Artist Album Song Title. A Short Album About Love Album Cover Art.


1 In Pursuit Of Happiness 3:31
2 Everybody Knows (Except You) 3:48
3 Someone 5:58
4 If... 4:25
5 If I Were You (I'd Be Through With Me) 4:41
6 Timewatching 4:42
7 I'm All You Need 4:51

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Vital
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Setanta
  • Copyright (c) – Setanta
  • Published By – Damaged Pop Music
  • Recorded At – Shepherds Bush Empire
  • Mastered At – Metropolis Mastering
  • Pressed By – Technicolor – C4847


  • Cello – Betsy Taylor, Duncan Moulton, Robbie Jacobs
  • Double Bass – Peter Devlin, Philip Dawson
  • Drums – Miguel Barradas
  • Engineer, Mixed By – Jon Jacobs
  • Guitar – Bryan Mills, Ivor Talbot
  • Horns – Matthew Gunner
  • Mastered By – Ian Cooper
  • Oboe – Max Spiers
  • Organ [Hammond] – Stuart 'Pinkie' Bates*
  • Percussion – Robert Farrer*
  • Photography By – Kevin Westenberg
  • Piano, Arranged By – Joby Talbot
  • Saxophone, Flute – Charlotte Glasson
  • Sleeve, Design – Rob Crane
  • Trombone – Jane Butterfield
  • Trumpet – Simon Jones
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Adam Howard
  • Viola – John Murphy , Jong On Lau, Yannick Dondelinger, Zoe Lake
  • Violin – Benjamin Harte, Benjamin Nabarro, Emily Davis , Juliet Warden, Kate Birchall, Krista Juanita Caspersz*, Lisa Betteridge, Mary Martin, Simon Baggs, Timothy Myall*
  • Vocals, Guitar, Written-By – Neil Hannon

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 033281 640363
  • Matrix / Runout: C4847 SETCD036 06 Technicolor
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L122
  • Mould SID Code: ifpi 2324

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SETLP36 The Divine Comedy A Short Album About Love ‎(LP, Album) Setanta SETLP36 UK 1997
488718 2 The Divine Comedy A Short Album About Love ‎(CD, Album) Setanta 488718 2 Europe 1997
7243 8 42873 2 0 The Divine Comedy A Short Album About Love ‎(CD, Album, Dig) Labels, Setanta 7243 8 42873 2 0 France 1997
SRCS 8422 The Divine Comedy A Short Album About Love ‎(CD, Album) Tristar SRCS 8422 Japan 1997
SET MC 36 The Divine Comedy A Short Album About Love ‎(Cass, Album) Setanta SET MC 36 UK 1997