» » Wizz Jones - Soloflight

Wizz Jones - Soloflight FLAC album

Performer: Wizz Jones
Genre: Rock / Folk and World music
Title: Soloflight
Released: 1978
Style: Folk Rock, Acoustic
FLAC version ZIP size: 1579 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1984 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1833 mb
Rating: 4.5
Votes: 732
Other Formats: MP3 RA DXD VOX AAC APE AU

Raymond Ronald Jones (born 25 April 1939, Thornton Heath, Croydon, Surrey), better-known as Wizz Jones, is an English acoustic guitarist, singer and songwriter. He has been performing since the late 1950s and recording from 1965 to the present. He has worked with many of the notable guitarists of the British folk revival, such as John Renbourn and Bert Jansch.

The Best Of Wizz Jones.

Wizz Jones is the 1969 album by the pioneer British folk musician Wizz Jones. This was Jones' debut solo album, despite having been a performer since 1959. All but five of the songs were written by Alan Tunbridge. Teapot Blues" (Wizz Jones). Shall I Wake You from Your Sleep?". A Common or Garden Mystery". I've Got a Woman with One Leg". Shukkin' Sugar Blues" (Blind Lemon Jefferson). Earl's Court Breakdown" (based on Trombone by Chet Atkins).

Soloflight is the 1978 double album by the pioneer British folk musician Wizz Jones. The album contains covers and traditional folk tunes recorded from 1970-1974. The standout tracks are "National Seven", "Pastures of Plenty", "Sally Free and Easy" and "Can't Keep from Crying". National Seven" (Alan Tunbridge) - 3:05. Pastures of Plenty" (Woody Guthrie) - 3:20. Dallas Blues" (George Lewis) - 3:25. Sam Stone" (John Prine) - 4:20.

This full Wizz Jones discography is alphabetical, however you can sort Wizz Jones album list by any column. Note that this complete list of Wizz Jones releases is based on official releases and does not always include promotional-only discs, although they are listed when we have data on them.

His first solo album was Wizz Jones in 1969. Eight of the songs were written by his long-time friend Alan Tunbridge, who also designed the sleeve artwork. Up to 1988, ten solo albums followed and he played on Ralph McTell's single "Easy" in 1974. Steve Tilston was also guided by Jones, through the early stages of his career. Jones was once described as having 'a right hand worthy of Broonzy', referring to the Blues Guitarist Big Bill Broonzy. He maintained a career alongside a group career, releasing his debut solo album.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 National Seven
Written-By – Alan Turnbridge*
A2 Pastures Of Plenty
Written-By – Woody Guthrie
A3 Dallas Blues
Written-By – George Lewis
A4 Sam Stone
Written-By – John Prine
A5 Weeping Willow Blues
Written-By – Blind Boy Fuller
A6 Shake, Shake Mama
Written-By – Traditional
B1 Second-Hand Mini-Me
Written-By – Alan Turnbridge*
B2 Sally Free And Easy
Written-By – Cyril Tawney
B3 Can't Keep From Crying
Written-By – Blind Gary Davis
B4 Angie
Written-By – Davey Graham*
B5 Spoonful
Written-By – Alan Turnbridge*, Wizz Jones
B6 National Seven (The Longer Version)
Written-By – Wizz Jones
Winter Song EP
C1 When You're Gone
Written-By – Alan Turnbridge*
C2 Come Back Baby
Written-By – Lightnin' Hopkins
C3 Cocain Blues
Written-By – Reverend Blind Gary Davis*
D1 Frankie
Written-By – Mississippi John Hurt
D2 Guitar Shuffle
Written-By – Big Bill Broonzy
D3 Winter Song
Written-By – Alan Hull


  • Guitar, Vocals – Wizz Jones


Recorded from 1970-1974
LP comes with a bonus 7" EP without picture sleeve.